40 Alumni in the Music Industry

On Thursday, January 10, we will welcome students back from Winter Break with a special treat – our 2nd Annual Alumni Music Special Assembly!  Last year’s assembly was a great hit (view photos here!), and we are excited to do it even bigger and better this year with over one dozen alumni representing more than 10 graduating classes since 1980!  This week we’ve put together a list of 40 Marin Academy alumni working in the music industry.  This list is far from complete, if we missed you, please add your name and a link to your music in the comments below!

Check out Chris Collins '92, guitarist for Super Diamond, at MA's 40th celebration on April 20, 2013!

Check out Chris Collins ’92, guitarist for Super Diamond, at MA’s 40th celebration on April 20, 2013!

1.   Carol Bach-y-Rita ’80 – jazzbliss.com
2.   Chase Baldocchi ’08 – Vocals: The Bob Hill Band
3.   Will Baldocchi ’09 – Drums: The Bob Hill Band
4.   Devon Baldwin ’09 – facebook.com/dvnbaldwin
5.   Jake Bloomfield-Misrach ’99 – Madam Trashy
6.   Rachael Bouch-Dimondstein ‘97 – Percussionist
7.   Jayme Brown ’03 – Antique Naked Soul

Rozzi Crane '09 will be heading out on tour with Maroon 5 in the new year!

Rozzi Crane ’09 will be heading out on tour with Maroon 5 in the new year!

8.   Jarrett Cherner ‘99 – jarrettcherner.com
9.   Chris Collins ’92 – Guitar: Super Diamond
10. Rozzi Crane ’09: http://rozzicrane.com/
11. Owen Dalby ’02 – Violinist and Artistic Director: The Declassified
12. Mat Davidson ’04 – Spirit Family Reunion
13. Sam Doores ’04 – Sam Doores & the Tumbleweed
14. Luke Esterkyn ’90 – Vocals & guitar: Stroke 9
15. Dylan Flynn ’05 – cdbaby.com
16. Matt Gill ’96 – Music Production, Engineering, Mixing
17. Jeff Glassberg ’96 – Bass: The Ventriloquists
18. Jordan Hyde ’04 – Guitar: Zongo Junction

Tennessee Mowrey '10, Orion Letizi '90, and Julia Chanin '11 performed together at last year's Alumni Music Assembly.

Tennessee Mowrey ’10, Orion Letizi ’90, and Julia Chanin ’11 performed together at last year’s Alumni Music Assembly.

19. Lara Johnston ‘08 – larajohnston.com
20. John Kelley ’86 – Technical Director – MA Performing Arts Dept
21. Leah King – leah-king.com

22. Thessaly Lerner ’92 – The Ukulady
23. Orion Letizi ’90 – http://orionletizi.com/
24. Garth MacLeavey ’00 – Madam Trashy
25. John McDermott ’91 – Guitar: Stroke 9
26. Ryan Merchant ’99 – Capital Cities
27. Becky Mimiaga ’05 – beckymimiaga.com
28. Sky Nelson ’92 – skynelson.com
29. Luke Notary ’96 – House of Waters – See them play at MA’s 40th bash on April 20!
30. Liz Pappademas ’98 – lizp.bandcamp.com
31. Mara Plotkin ’01 – Clarinet
32. Sasha Rattle ‘02 – Clarinet: Berlin Counterpoint

Luke Notary '96, percussionist with House of Waters, will also be performing on April 20!

Luke Notary ’96, percussionist with House of Waters, will also be performing on April 20!

33. Chloe Roth ’03 – chloemakesmusic.com

34. Joel Scheckman ‘96 – Clarinet/Bass Clarinet/E-flat Clarinet: Grand Rapids Symphony
35. Taylor Shell ’04 – Composer & Bass: Turkuaz
36. Matt Silverman ’82 – About Face
37. Marie Dalby Szuts ’97 –  Viola da Gamba: Quaver
38. Keeley Valentino ’00 – keeleyvalentino.com
39. Desiree Wattis ’11 – Desiree Wattis & 100 Dollar Horse
40. Kalei Wenner ’94 – kaleialohaonakupunawenner.com

The 2012-2013 school year marks 40 years of education at Marin Academy.  Throughout the year we will be commemorating this anniversary with on-campus events for students, special publications (including this on-going series of “lists of 40″), and a community celebration at Bimbo’s in San Francisco on April 20 (Save the date!).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s